RSS

Poetry Potluck-2

03 May

Prompted by

http://jinglepoetry.blogspot.com/2011/05/poetry-potluck-doubts-fear-inhibitions.html

I wish I could sing

Of the splendour of Spring

Of inexpressible stirrings

Which to my heart it brings

I wish I could dance

Till senses slumberin a trance

The sensuous sway of wind-swept brances

Flowing into my limbs, till my soul it reaches.

I wish I could paint

Imbibe each colour, each subtle taint

And mix them harmoniuosly till I find

An inspiring picture in my mind

I wish I could write

Let loose my feeling, now sealed so tight

Speak of my gloom and my delight

Chasing each other light shadow and light

I wish I could do all these things

But my voice cracks when I start to sing

My feet falter, in my tread I stumble

My hands hesitate; my thoughts -a confused jumble

 
7 Comments

Posted by on May 3, 2011 in Poetry

 

7 responses to “Poetry Potluck-2

  1. M.A.S

    May 6, 2011 at 8:26

    This poem works so well. I can sense the desire, but the rhyme seems to lighten the mood. So you don’t have a horribly depressing poem about all the things someone cannot do. It’s an idea I tried to convey (in a very different way) in one of my poems. Give it a read if you want. Dancin’ Machine

     
  2. BUTTERFLIES OF TIME

    May 4, 2011 at 8:26

    Dear friend(Nadira)
    Thank you,you are more than welcome to my isle .
    Having gone through some of your posts, I know that I have a long way to go as far as poetry is concerned.Your poems have a delicate touch and feel light as a feather on the soul.Your comment on poetry being a cathartic process is so true and I completely agree.Such is the magic,a poem can make.I am indeed blessed to receive such a comment from you.
    BTW- regarding this poem, it has a flowing , musical quality and the realisation of the chasm between a wish and its fulfillment brings the music to a stirring halt.

     
  3. Andy

    May 4, 2011 at 8:26

    I hope you manage to accomplish everything you desire.

     
  4. Jingle

    May 3, 2011 at 8:26

    best wishes,
    one step at a time, you rock!

    A++

     

Leave a Reply

 
