RSS

The hand that rocks the cradle

01 May

The Winter’s air cannot chill you love,

For you were born to me

So bear the cold, till days improve

Wait, wait patiently.

My arms are weak from daily toil

Yet rest is forbidden now.

From labour and sweat I cannot recoil

For I must see you grow.

So lie under this tree , where I can watch

While I carry these bricks and sand .

I’ll wrap you in these rags or a cold you’ll catch

Hush! don’t cry, for I’m near at hand.

Perhapsthe future will be more benign

Perhaps our sweat will speak

And our lives will be free from hunger and pain

Till then your patience keep.

Till then, dear child, brave this chilly wind

Leaving you now , I must go.

Against whom or how, we have sinned

I just can’t fathom now.

Doomed am I to this fate

But you must grow and discern

Why some have delicacies heaped on their plates

While some for bread crumbs yearn.

P.S The images used in this post were taken from the internet.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 1, 2011 in Community, Labour, Poetry

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “The hand that rocks the cradle

  1. Jamie Dedes

    October 7, 2015 at 8:26

    This captures the feeling well, Nadira, the poignancy and the hopelessness. Thank you for sharing it with us. I am going to add the link to our 100,000 TPC effort, which will be archived in the U.S. at Stanford University. Also, if it is okay with you, I’d like to include it in the November issue of “The BeZine.” That issue’s theme is “At-risk Youth.” If you would let me know by Facebook message that would be good. Be well, lovely lady.

    Warmly,
    Jamie Dedes

     
  2. BUTTERFLIES OF TIME

    June 19, 2011 at 8:26

    Wonderful and poignant poem . Let me suggest submitting it to poetriesonline .com. They have called for submissions for their next hard bound anthology titled ‘Indus valley” and the last date is 31st August. Here are the details if you are interested. I had three of mine published in their last Anthology.
    http://sites.google.com/site/poetriesonline/home/indusvalley

     

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.