RSS

Unravelled yarn

06 Dec

I sat  unravelling a mass of wool

As tangled as my identity.

One strand at a time, from the vicious loop

Towards a  possible harmony.

 

I am my country,

My colour , my creed

I am my gender,

My language, my breed

I am  wha t ” I” think

I ‘m what “You” see in me

A  prisoner enchained,

A  spirit that’s free.

 

I am my bones, my muscles, my cells

I am my genes ,  my chemistry

I ‘m  my  own compass to chart my seas

I’m  nothing but my destiny.

 

I am joy, I ‘m  sorrow

I am guilt, I am greed

I am what they taught me

I am what I read

I ‘m my past unfolding

I’m the seed, I’m the tree.

I am limitations

I am possibility.

I am the expanse of the  limitless sky

I’m  the mystery of the abyss  deep

I am the songs that I scribble and sing.

I am the secrets that I keep.

 

I am a poem, I’m a prayer

I’m a circle, I’m a square

I’m an island, I’m a stream

I am buried, I am bare.

I’m the cycle that repeats

I am life, I am death

I’m the silence that enfolds

My heartbeat and my breath.

 

I ‘m the bird in flight and I am  the worm

I am   the mountain and the meadow green

I ‘m the lashing  storm and the gentle breeze

I’m the seraphic being and the monster mean.

 

I am peace, I’m perfection

I’m the truth in  illusion

I’m the music in you

That sings in me.

I  dwell  in beauty

I’m Om and Ameen

I am the saint and the sinner

I’m the dawn serene.

 

 

I am and I’m not, I’m awake in my  dream

I am awareness and  eternal   bliss

I am what I am,  I’m not what I seem.

I am the kisser as well as the kiss.

 

I  am  in the conch shell

And the rosary beads

I am that  ocean

To which all rivers lead

I am questions at rest

I am below , I am above

I am the answer I seek

I am joy, I am love

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
27 Comments

Posted by on December 6, 2015 in Poetry, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

27 responses to “Unravelled yarn

  1. AmyRose🌹

    December 12, 2015 at 8:26

    OH can I relate to your words!! How very talented you are to put words to emotions in such a wondrous form. I honestly thought I was following you and as I come here, I see I am not, so I followed (again). Your words deeply touch me. Bless you! ❤

     
    • dreamingthruthetwilight

      December 13, 2015 at 8:26

      Thank you Amy. The more we look into ourselves , the more we begin to see the presence of others in ourselves , I guess. Distances or perceived differences really don’t matter , do they…or else how would you have been to relate to what I wrote?

       
      • AmyRose🌹

        December 14, 2015 at 8:26

        It works in other ways as well. The more I know myself, the more that I can observe in others what I am not (or what I used to be) and what I am as well. NOT all I observe is within me … thank goodness! Life is one continuous learning curve which finds me most times in the fast lane. Who I was compared to who I am today, are two vastly different persons. (for the better!) 🙂 Have a great day today!! Love, Amy ❤

         
  2. DG MARYOGA

    December 10, 2015 at 8:26

    That’s what I have written under Sue’s reblogged post.Much kudos,my friend!You are such a talented and blessed poet(ess)!

    Another gem like you dearSue!Nadira has so marvellously unravelled the yarn of her life,of her personalty profile with the acquired and inherited traits.
    Attributes,thoughts, feelings,attitudes,beliefs and principles and above all her connection and interaction with nature and the vastness of the universe.Oh how loving and sweet she is!Great poem,thank you for bringing it out! Doda 🙂 ❤ xxx

     
  3. Ka Malana@Fiestaestrellas.com

    December 10, 2015 at 8:26

    Absolutely beautiful ❤

    "I am and I’m not, I’m awake in my dream

    I am awareness and eternal bliss

    I am what I am, I’m not what I seem.

    I am the kisser as well as the kiss."

    "I am in the conch shell

    And the rosary beads"….

    xxKa

     
    • dreamingthruthetwilight

      December 11, 2015 at 8:26

      And I am absolutely thrilled to have you all pay me a visit in this virtual space. I’ve known Sue, I’ve always felt, is a sister soul and I’m more than happy that she has introduced me to all her loving friends. Thanks once more.

       
  4. balroop2013

    December 10, 2015 at 8:26

    Hi Nadira,

    I have been impelled by the beauty of the words to come here and read rest of this poem and I found it absolutely outstanding, philosophical yet connected to reality…so much has been said that it is hard to digest in one reading.

    Yes, we are what we are made to be…entangled in the yarn of life, sometimes by choice and at other times by compulsions and beauties all around us. I need to read this again, so will visit again.

    Thanks for such a wonderful piece!

     
    • dreamingthruthetwilight

      December 10, 2015 at 8:26

      I am so glad Sue shared this post and it brought you here. This blogging space is such a wonderful world, throwing up possibilities for so so much warmth going around. Do stop by whenever you are free to do so 🙂

       
  5. Karin

    December 10, 2015 at 8:26

    Such a wonderful poem!

    “I am the answer I seek

    I am joy, I am love”

    This is beautiful. Thank you for sharing!
    Karin

     
    • dreamingthruthetwilight

      December 10, 2015 at 8:26

      Thanks to you for reading and affirming. Those moments are hard to come by , but when it does, it lifts away all loads, doesn’t it?

       
  6. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature

    December 10, 2015 at 8:26

    Phenominal

     
  7. Sue Dreamwalker

    December 9, 2015 at 8:26

    Reblogged this on Dreamwalker's Sanctuary and commented:
    This wonderful Poem from my dear friend Nadira spoke to me today … We are all of us weaving about ourselves such a tangled web.. And many at the moment I feel are unravelling the yarn and all it’s knots right now.. Many are sensing Change, and the need to find order out of the chaos.

    .. I ask that you take a little time to read Nadira’s post in full.. I am sure you too can relate to her thoughts..

    On a personal note I am at last getting time to repaying the kind comments you have all left me.. One by one.. So if you are not yet visited you will be shortly.. as I work down my comments list..
    Have a Blessed Weekend.. And thank you all for being part of my WP family of wonderful friends..
    Love to you All..
    Sue xxx

     
    • dreamingthruthetwilight

      December 10, 2015 at 8:26

      Thank you so much for the share dear Sue. I know that all those in your warm embracing circle will relate . My love to all. 🙂

       
      • Sue Dreamwalker

        December 10, 2015 at 8:26

        You are most welcome dear friend.. It was too good a poem not to share it.. 🙂

         
  8. Sue Dreamwalker

    December 9, 2015 at 8:26

    So wonderful dear Nadira… May we all find ourselves from the tangles we weave about ourselves.. 🙂 In love and Gratitude my wonderful friend.. xxx

     
    • dreamingthruthetwilight

      December 10, 2015 at 8:26

      I’m grateful too for friends like you in my life, dear Sue. Brings me hope of a better world even when everything around seems bleak.. Much love to you.

       
  9. AmyRose🌹

    December 6, 2015 at 8:26

    Brilliant!!! Wow!! ❤

     
    • dreamingthruthetwilight

      December 10, 2015 at 8:26

      Thank you Amy.:-) Like you , I’m standing with my arms stretched out and telling myself jubilantly, “I am alive”. Hugs

       
      • AmyRose🌹

        December 10, 2015 at 8:26

        SMILING!!!! ❤

         
  10. belasbrightideas

    December 6, 2015 at 8:26

    Brilliant and lovely. “I am that I am.” The nature of reality, as we come to understand it. Which is fluid and changing, as well. Aloha.

     
    • dreamingthruthetwilight

      December 10, 2015 at 8:26

      Thanks Bela 🙂 I’m a bit removed from the hustle and bustle of the world these days and I am fortunate to be spending most of my time with my little grandson who is turning three today. Without the pressures of the world impinging on me, I am getting time to do the unravelling,,,,thread by thread and I realise it’s not going to be easy 🙂

       
      • belasbrightideas

        December 10, 2015 at 8:26

        Nothing worthwhile is usually easy. Many blessings in the process! And Happy Holidays ❤

         
  11. P C Jain

    December 6, 2015 at 8:26

    Good to see the poet in you returning full glory. I am so happy to see one of your best, I have read and enjoyed. It portrays the philosophy of life in all it’s hues almost like Bhagwad Geeta .

     
    • dreamingthruthetwilight

      December 10, 2015 at 8:26

      Baap re Jainsaab!!!!! Such high praise is intimidating !!!! .But thank you so much. Praying that peace and harmony prevails in our world.

       

Leave a Reply

 
