RSS

The Daily Me

15 Nov

Violence yet again  rocks a European  city . The perpertrators are said to be members of the ISIS . They were heard to be shouting “Allahu Akbar “  and therein lies a tale, narrated by some, thankfully not  all.

According to that story  everyone across the  world who believe in a God as the source of everything  and call that source by the name of Allah become partners or accomplices  or at least are silently acquiesing  and tacitly  approving these deaths.

“Why are the muslims not protesting enough? “

“Why is there no outrage?”

The “terrorism  has no religion “ response on the social media  has become passé , they declare and is too lame .

After reading  very many such posts on the Facebook,  the social media I am a member of,  I was curious enough to find out if this was indeed true.  I just googled using the words “Muslims protest against Paris killings “ and 74,50,000 links showed up at that point of time.

These are a couple of them:

https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/wonk/wp/2015/11/14/how-muslims-around-the-world-condemned-the-paris-attacks/

http://www.alternet.org/media/muslims-around-world-condemn-paris-attacks

I then googled  “Muslims silent on Paris killings” and 36,10,000 links showed up. A cursory glance at some of the initial pages though, were in fact, those that pointed towards  muslims speaking up against the current attack and the earlier incident of the  Charlie Hebdo attack.

http://www.ibtimes.com/moderate-muslims-use-jesuischarlie-condemn-charlie-hebdo-attack-paris-1775986

I then remembered reading an article  in the New York Times  written by Nicholos Christoff  titled ,”The daily Me” .

http://www.nytimes.com/2009/03/19/opinion/19kristof.html?_r=0

It is  a very, very perceptive way  of looking at the way we search for information  that matches our own line of thoughts, attitudes , beliefs or prejudices and I can often see the truth in that,  in the way I  choose the key words while googling for something whenever I want to quote something that will affirm what I set out to say.

“we generally don’t truly want good information — but rather information that confirms our prejudices. We may believe intellectually in the clash of opinions, but in practice we like to embed ourselves in the reassuring womb of an echo chamber.”

As far as Indian muslims are concerned,  may be they are not as vociferous  perhaps  as their Hindu counterparts when it comes to denouncing dastardly acts committed in the name of religion, going by  the numbers who do so.  But then the Hindu population is far more . I wonder how the numbers who raise their voices reflect in terms of percentage and whether at all,  the voices raised are heard or registered.  Also, Hinduism  has hundreds of years of an inherent tradition of allowing dissent in thinking and giving expression to the same.  Islam , on the other hand , is a relatively new religion and it’s followers who are ordinary citizens , in a country where they are in a minority are perhaps a little diffident of speaking up and choose to go silently with their lives. It would be very far from the truth, however to conclude that they support such violence.

I’ve always felt that the more distance,   both physical and mental , that we keep  from those we perceive as the “others” , the more we are prone to falling prey to our prejudices .  I don’t know if this is absolutely true, but may be most  of us are more comfortable in forging friendships with only those who share  our beliefs, whether it be religious, political or something else. I admit that is largely true in my case.  But may be that is why the distances grow.  May be we need to have sane conversations for a start  , which does not resort to name calling and four-lettered abuses with people  who don’t share our views and without our egos getting in the way.

May be we need to listen more and not immediately think of ways to counter the other.

Although, perhaps, that is precisely what I am doing now 🙂 🙂

 
6 Comments

Posted by on November 15, 2015 in Community

 

Tags: , , , ,

6 responses to “The Daily Me

  1. P C Jain

    November 17, 2015 at 8:26

    I agree with your observations broadly and not wholly, I believe that more u interact with people around u ( without preconceived notions ) You come closer and develop better understanding of the other Individual and judge him for what He is beyond labels. The crux to better understanding lies in closer social interaction, ghettoisation which emanates from sense of insecurity, always results in increasing distances and generating misunderstandings.Why we end up forging relationships with those sharing our beliefs is possibly due to more opportunities (depending on his environment)one has for closer interaction with people sharing ones beliefs and not by choice.

     
    • dreamingthruthetwilight

      November 17, 2015 at 8:26

      Thank you for your comments Jainsaab. I totally agree with you , which is what I tried to bring out in the concluding para. That is how it should be, but most often, that is how it is not. In my case, although I have friends across religions, I tend to be closer to those who share my perspectives about life. I wouldn’t be rude or discourteous to anyone, but I wouldn’t be comfortable with a muslim friend who looked down upon those who belonged to other religions and vice-versa, or someone who was stuck up about material wealth and so on. I guess there is a need to get beyond that too, not just in the religious context, but in other areas too and whole-heartedly accept the fact that we humans, come in all sizes and packages , that we’re not all that different beneath our outer projections or affiliations.

      I wouldn’t agree with your last sentence. I think choices are involved, whatever be the circumstances.

       
  2. Sue Dreamwalker

    November 15, 2015 at 8:26

    Dearest Nadira.. I so echo your thinking here.. and have offered in my own way a similar sentiment about how we as individuals are responsible.. for we are creating the world around us.. With Fear and Prejudices ..

    “I’ve always felt that the more distance, both physical and mental , that we keep from those we perceive as the “others” , the more we are prone to falling prey to our prejudices . “…

    A wonderful Post my friend. Love and Light.. Sue xx

     
  3. granny1947

    November 15, 2015 at 8:26

    Hello Nadira. I have been very lazy about blogging and reading blogs lately.. I am so pleased I read yours today. The voice of reason. An excellent and well researched post.
    I agree, it is easy to condemn all Muslims if one does not stop to think.
    What these “people” are doing has nothing to do with religion.
    As far as I am aware The Muslim religion is a peaceful one.
    What we have here is a group of unbalanced murderous fanatics.

     
    • dreamingthruthetwilight

      November 15, 2015 at 8:26

      Hello Granny 🙂 I haven’t been regular in reading either , although I have been posting now and then. So glad you stopped by. I’m coming over soon . The truth about human beings, which is a little more than frightening, is perhaps that we are more ready to exclude and hate than embrace and love. One is grateful for all small bondings where such negativities don’t creep in. Love and hugs 🙂

       
      • granny1947

        November 16, 2015 at 8:26

        Love and hugs to you too.

         

Leave a Reply

 
