RSS

Truant

03 Jun

cycle

I was on my way
I was in a hurry
I decided on a detour
That would shorten the distance

It wasn’t a day
When I could tarry
To stop by the store
To talk to an acquiantance

I cut through the fields
And the mango grove
Then through the palms
Beside the river.

From amongst the reeds
Rose a white dove
At the distance of an arm
Like a sliver of silver.

My feet on the pedals
Slowed down and stopped
Alighting , I rested
My cycle against a trunk

I took in a lungfull
Of the air and was hooked
To the idea of a school kid
Doing the bunk

 
5 Comments

Posted by on June 3, 2015 in Nature, Poetry

 

Tags:

5 responses to “Truant

  1. P C JAIN

    June 3, 2015 at 8:26

    as sweet as the experience of the author

     
  2. Sue Dreamwalker

    June 3, 2015 at 8:26

    Wonderful poem, and I am so pleased to see a post here in my reader from you again.. 🙂 wishing you well my friend.. Sue x

     
    • dreamingthruthetwilight

      June 4, 2015 at 8:26

      Thank you, my dear Sue. Been busy with my grandson. He has started to go to a Montessori school which is run by his other grandmom :-). So may be I’ll get to spend some more time here. How’ve you been?

       
      • Sue Dreamwalker

        June 4, 2015 at 8:26

        I have been well, and its good to see you posting again.. And my how time is flying with your grandson.. 🙂
        Hugs my friend 🙂 Sue

         

Leave a Reply

 
