RSS

Something there is in me

26 Sep

This poem is in response to the following post in “Into the Bardo, a blogozine’

http://intothebardo.wordpress.com/2013/09/25/writers-fourth-wednesday-literary-allusion/

Something there is in me
That doesn’t love a wall.
Separation always pains.
To think of destiny
As an individual call
Is like thinking of rain
As separate from the stream
And the ocean , deep
And the blood in our veins.
Life, to me, is like a common dream
Shared by us in sleep
Though different memories remain.

The first sentence has been taken from Robert Frost’s poem “Mending Walls” with a slight modification. This is the original version:

“Mending Wall

Something there is that doesn’t love a wall,
That sends the frozen-ground-swell under it,
And spills the upper boulders in the sun;
And makes gaps even two can pass abreast.
The work of hunters is another thing:
I have come after them and made repair
Where they have left not one stone on a stone,
But they would have the rabbit out of hiding,
To please the yelping dogs. The gaps I mean,
No one has seen them made or heard them made,
But at spring mending-time we find them there.
I let my neighbour know beyond the hill;
And on a day we meet to walk the line
And set the wall between us once again.
We keep the wall between us as we go.
To each the boulders that have fallen to each.
And some are loaves and some so nearly balls
We have to use a spell to make them balance:
“Stay where you are until our backs are turned!”
We wear our fingers rough with handling them.
Oh, just another kind of out-door game,
One on a side. It comes to little more:
There where it is we do not need the wall:
He is all pine and I am apple orchard.
My apple trees will never get across
And eat the cones under his pines, I tell him.
He only says, “Good fences make good neighbours.”
Spring is the mischief in me, and I wonder
If I could put a notion in his head:
“Why do they make good neighbours? Isn’t it
Where there are cows? But here there are no cows.
Before I built a wall I’d ask to know
What I was walling in or walling out,
And to whom I was like to give offence.
Something there is that doesn’t love a wall,
That wants it down.” I could say “Elves” to him,
But it’s not elves exactly, and I’d rather
He said it for himself. I see him there
Bringing a stone grasped firmly by the top
In each hand, like an old-stone savage armed.
He moves in darkness as it seems to me,
Not of woods only and the shade of trees.
He will not go behind his father’s saying,
And he likes having thought of it so well
He says again, “Good fences make good neighbours.”
Robert Frost

 
19 Comments

Posted by on September 26, 2013 in Poetry

 

Tags: , , ,

19 responses to “Something there is in me

  1. saira

    February 9, 2015 at 8:26

    Hi,my name is Saira .I’m seven.My grandma showed me your lovely poems. your poems are so meaningful,so delightful that I would read them again and again. Thank you for writing such wonderful poems. Grandma loves them too. This is grandma’s email address, she ‘s helping me send it.

     
  2. Victoria C. Slotto

    October 24, 2013 at 8:26

    I had deja-vu twice reading this one. Recognized Frost and then realized that I’d read yours before. Was nice to reread it and I’m glad you linked it here.

     
  3. BUTTERFLIES OF TIME

    September 30, 2013 at 8:26

    Beautiful one Nadira.. so right as Jamie says, firm yet gentle like you . The allusion is to one of my fav poems, it pleases me no end.

     
  4. Liz Rice-Sosne

    September 26, 2013 at 8:26

    Nadira, I love this. And ha! many are doing Robert Froat!

     
    • dreamingthruthetwilight

      September 27, 2013 at 8:26

      Thank you Liz. He is one of my favourite poets, after Wordsworth. Don’t know too many modern poets. I guess I’m stuck with the old school 🙂

       
  5. Victoria Ceretto-Slotto

    September 26, 2013 at 8:26

    Nadira, you’ve chosen a wonderful poem/poet for allusion and stepped right up to the task. This seems such an apt poem for all that our poor world is facing right now. I just left a rather lengthy post on Jamie’s blog. I do believe it ties in to the spirit of your poem. And I agree with Jamie’s comment that I just noticed. Your writing is so peaceful, flowing like a gentle river.

     
    • dreamingthruthetwilight

      September 27, 2013 at 8:26

      This is so much encouragement. I’m overwhelmed. I’m so happy when I hear from someone that there is calmness in my writing. That is the way I mostly feel now and I’m glad that it spills over and that another can feel it.

       
  6. PoetJanstie

    September 26, 2013 at 8:26

    I like this poem, not just for its brevity, but it’s language, as Jamie says, each word and sentence seems to have been well thought about, as in all good poetry. I also love the use of ‘reiteration’, almost as in song lyrics. It is a powerful way in which to allude to another piece of work.

     
    • dreamingthruthetwilight

      September 27, 2013 at 8:26

      Now that I think of it , i do this allusion thing quite often. I’m on Facebook and whenever I read a nice poetry quote on somebody else’s status update, I add my take-off from that in the comments 🙂 . I don’t know too much technicalities about poetry. But I like it to have a metre and rhyme. I guess that comes from all the poems we learnt in school. Our poetry textbooks didn’t have too much of blank verse. Sometimes I feel limited by this obsessive need I have to stick to some pattern of rhyme. Thanks for your nice words Poet Jansite.:-)

       
      • PoetJanstie

        September 27, 2013 at 8:26

        I just made a reply to Monty Wheeler about rhythm and classic poetic form over on my latest piece at My Poetry Library (the ‘Literary Allusion’ piece) along these same lines. I even try to make any free verse that I write have some sort of rhtymic pattern to it; it always helps the words flow. In fact, you could argue that good prose writing, the stuff that you find easier to read (than a fact packed scientific treatise as an opposite example) is all about concatenating the right words together into a kind of language that’s smooth and flows …

         
  7. P C Jain

    September 26, 2013 at 8:26

    another beautiful composition from a master craftsman(woman)

     
    • dreamingthruthetwilight

      September 26, 2013 at 8:26

      Jainsaab, you are one of my constant readers and your encouragement really means a lot to me. Thank you so much from the bottom of my heart.

       
  8. pandamoniumcat

    September 26, 2013 at 8:26

    I love this poem by Robert Frost…and love your poem, the forced separations that somehow always connect eventually…a very nice touch!

     
    • dreamingthruthetwilight

      September 26, 2013 at 8:26

      Thanks pandamoniumcat. I’m so glad I got to join this challenge. It’s nice knowing you all.:-)

       
  9. dragonkatet

    September 26, 2013 at 8:26

    I really like the direction you took with this. Frost is one of my favorites, and I think you have captured a subtle undertone of his poem – that we are ALL connected. I especially like the last three lines:
    “Life, to me, is like a common dream
    Shared by us in sleep
    Though different memories remain.”
    How wonderful that we can sometimes share in the waking world, too. 🙂

     
    • dreamingthruthetwilight

      September 26, 2013 at 8:26

      Isn’t it, dragonkatet? Many thanks for the read and comments There is another poem of Robert Frost that I really like. I can’t remember the title , but it is about a mower coming upon a tuft of flowers left unmowed by another who went before him. The concluding lines are something like..all men work together whether they work together or alone. There is such a lot of truth in that.

       
      • dragonkatet

        September 26, 2013 at 8:26

        “The Tuft of Flowers” is the poem. 🙂 Another good reminder of how we all share the earth and need to care for it and one another. I like the lines: “The mower in the dew had loved them thus /
        By leaving them to flourish, not for us,” <—That mankind may leave things for the animals and wildlife and help preserve the balance is one of the greatest things our species may do.

        Yes, that is the one. Thanks for reminding me. Robert Frost writes so simply and yet each time you read his poems, you go into a spin of new reflections.Thanks Dragonket – Love, Nadira

         
  10. dreamingthruthetwilight

    September 26, 2013 at 8:26

    Thank you Jamie. Hugs:-) So glad to break down the walls and connect.:-)

     
  11. Jamie Dedes

    September 26, 2013 at 8:26

    Thank you, Nadira, for joining in our challenge … and in such a lovely way. I love the gentle cadance of your poem. There is a peace about it … not one jarring phrase, not one ill-considered word. It is right on target as a response to the challenge. Well done. Very well done …

    Jamie

     

Leave a Reply

 
