RSS

Pass it on when you’re done

24 Sep

I can smell the sultry smoke

From the lazy log fire

But I’d like to see it curl and climb

Higher and higher.

 

I can feel the silken touch

Of a baby’s chubby cheeks

I’d  like to see expressions change

As she gurgles and shrieks.

 

I can taste the sour and sweet

As they sit tickling on my tongue

I’d like to see the luscious grapes

In tempting clusters hung.

 

I can hear the sound of waves

As they crash against the shore

But I’d like to see the setting sun

Cross the dusky door.

 

So pass them on to one like me

When for you their work is done

And thus from where a story ends

A novel  would have begun.

 

 
3 Comments

Posted by on September 24, 2012 in Poetry

 

Tags: ,

3 responses to “Pass it on when you’re done

  1. Sue Dreamwalker

    November 12, 2012 at 8:26

    An excellent poem Nadira, our eyesight is so precious and we take the beauty of our earth so much for granted especially in the colourful Autumn months.. as well as the Summer and Spring with flowers and blossoms…. I am most grateful for all of my senses… each a gift to be grateful for…. Thank you for reminding us…
    Sue

     
  2. BUTTERFLIES OF TIME

    October 6, 2012 at 8:26

    Lovely message! To see in colour, in shades, in shapes … a gift indeed but much undervalues and as Jolly says. too easily taken for granted.

     
  3. Jolly

    September 26, 2012 at 8:26

    This is beautiful! We take our eyes so much for granted that we don’t realise what the visually impaired are missing. You’ve captured it so well and great message too.

     

Leave a Reply

 
