RSS

Look at me!!

16 Aug

He had come home drunk again
Late into the night.
My mother was half asleep
In the dim light.

Nothing new there, it’s our daily fare
We were quite used to it.
I’m eight , my sister is younger
By just a wee bit.

We have a kid brother
Who can barely walk now
When our mother goes out to work
He becomes our tail, in tow.

She had cooked rice and a little dal
We’d eaten,but we knew the drill
She’d always wait for him to come
And eat after he’d had his fill.

He was drunk again, last night
With a temper quick to rise.
Mother railed at him,”You drunkard!
I’m waiting for your demise.”

She wasn’t really, I know
She always did as he bid.
She just hated the alchohol bit
I’ve known that since I was a kid.

The money that went drown the drain
Instead of paying for the rent and rice
The beatings that she had to bear
That was the hefty price.

“How do I know they’re mine?”
He’d shove her to the bed.
Some things we understood.
Some things went over our heads.

Last night ,he came home drunk again
And I got in the way
He flung me against the wall
Before I could say “Hey!”

“What happened?”, you ask, concerned
“What is this bandage you sport?”
Ah! My father came home drunk again
And he was out of sorts.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on August 16, 2012 in Community, Poetry

 

Tags: , , , ,

10 responses to “Look at me!!

  1. Sue Dreamwalker

    September 1, 2012 at 8:26

    Growing up myself in an abusive environment, I know this story well… I still do not like alcohol and the smell, and my heart still beats faster when ever I hear an argument of any sort…. Yes a childs memories are sharp and you wrote this poem so well, addressing those feelings ..
    Sue

     
    • dreamingthruthetwilight

      September 2, 2012 at 8:26

      Thank you Sue. For the child , such a situation is so very confusing , when those who are supposed to give them a sense of security and fill their world with warmth and love, do just the opposite and the memories remain in the psyche as you well know.

       
  2. Jolly

    August 25, 2012 at 8:26

    So poignantly written Eka, and so empathetic!

     
  3. Gobetween

    August 19, 2012 at 8:26

    Some things are never forgotten, it is like they happened yesterday. My father never drank but the verbal abuse and intense fear will never leave me even now that I am old and strong and he has passed on.

     
    • dreamingthruthetwilight

      September 2, 2012 at 8:26

      So much of our adult personalities, fears, complexes have their roots in childhood and yet, a child’s mental and psychological landscape is hardly mapped by the adult world.

       
  4. BUTTERFLIES OF TIME

    August 18, 2012 at 8:26

    Sad but so well written with a wry tone .

     
    • dreamingthruthetwilight

      September 2, 2012 at 8:26

      Thank you again Optie. I still have not got around to doing the rest of it. Will try and do it soon. Thanks again:-0

       
    • dreamingthruthetwilight

      September 2, 2012 at 8:26

      Thanks Reena. Actually these kids deal with so much in such a matter of fact fashion that it would be, in a way , insulting their resilience if one expressed it any other way, I felt. And yet, one knows that scars are being formed that will remain throughout their lives.

       
  5. optie

    August 16, 2012 at 8:26

    I have nominated you for a Versatile Blogger Award. Go to http://walking-on-eggshells.com/2012/08/16/an-award-yay/ to collect you award and then nominate 15 others and share 7 things about yourself.

     

Leave a Reply

 
