RSS

Prayers

31 Jul

They told me that I would stay safe

From Hell’s blazing fires

If I walked straight on the path

And recited my prayers.

But huge distractions came my way

As sights and sounds and smells

And my thoughts no longer dwelt

On the burning fires of Hell.

I found friends who had been told

Of other Gods and skies

But they too chose to run away

From the sacred and the wise.

We drew close and held hands

To form a sheltered loop

And we moved to a secret tune

Like dancers in a troupe.

We felt our hearts with sunbeams fill

And heard music from a flute

We knew the tingle and the thrill

Of a prayer so strong , yet mute.

I no longer fear the fires of Hell

But this I do  believe

Heaven is  in the here and now

It’s there in the way we live.

 
14 Comments

Posted by on July 31, 2012 in Poetry

 

Tags: , , ,

14 responses to “Prayers

  1. souldipper

    August 3, 2012 at 8:26

    A voice of my heart. Thank you, Nadira.

     
  2. The Mind Speaks

    August 2, 2012 at 8:26

    Loved this one! So true, heaven and hell – both belong here, where we live. I too ran away with the distractions and am glad to know, many others too have. 🙂

     
  3. Jolly

    August 1, 2012 at 8:26

    Heaven and hell – just concepts to keep us imprisoned. Nice poem Eka that traces your journey out of the fear.

     
    • dreamingthruthetwilight

      August 2, 2012 at 8:26

      Thanks Jolly. Oh I was afraid alright. Had to go through a lot of sorting out to get rid of it.

       
  4. P C JAIN

    August 1, 2012 at 8:26

    sO TRUE THE HEAVEN IS IN THE HERE AND NOW AND THAT IS THE ULTIMATE TRUTH

     
  5. surekh

    August 1, 2012 at 8:26

    Really beautiful..Thank You very much

     
    • dreamingthruthetwilight

      August 1, 2012 at 8:26

      Thanks Surekh. I know you’re one of them in the group:-)

       
      • surekh

        August 2, 2012 at 8:26

        Sure..”.Heaven is in the here and now..”…is the other side of Hell…?

         
    • dreamingthruthetwilight

      August 2, 2012 at 8:26

      Well I understand Heaven to be a synonym for Harmony and learning to live in the Present ,without hanging on to past baggage or fears of future is I think what will get me there.Thank you so much for reading my posts Surekh:-).

       
      • surekh

        August 7, 2012 at 8:26

        I really love to read ur words…
        Thank you very much 4 sharing

         
  6. Samanthamj

    July 31, 2012 at 8:26

    I concur. nice poem, & message. I escaped the fear myself. =)

     
    • dreamingthruthetwilight

      August 1, 2012 at 8:26

      Thank you Samantha for coming this way and for your comments. We’re holding hands then, aren’t we?

       
      • Samanthamj

        August 1, 2012 at 8:26

        we are now…. yes. thanks. =)

         

Leave a Reply

 
