RSS

Freedom

07 Jul

Freedom comes when the past
Casts  no shadows of regret  or pain
Freedom finds me when the mind
Does not wallow in future loss or gain

Freedom thrives when my  hate and anger
Begins to wither and the heart grows calm
Freedom smiles when my passions
Ceases to simmer and gets embalmed .

Freedom holds my hand and hugs me
When I forgive myself and you
When I know that saint and sinner
Is in me , just as in you.

Freedom smiles when my neighbour’s joy
Fills my lungs and makes me sing
Freedom winks when my  prayers
Are feathers that give another, wings.

Freedom spreads its gossamer lightness
When I accept that I do not know
And I surrender without resistance
Like a leaf to  the river’s flow.

Freedom is,  when I’m aware
Of each moment in which I breathe
And all else is transient  except the love
That encompasses me like a sheath.

This is in response to the prompt on Free write Friday on the following link:

http://kellieelmore.com/2012/07/06/fwf-free-write-friday-freedom-write/

 
14 Comments

Posted by on July 7, 2012 in Poetry

 

Tags: , , ,

14 responses to “Freedom

  1. K A Beena

    August 16, 2016 at 8:26

    Beautiful…

     
  2. panjami Anand

    August 15, 2016 at 8:26

    Beautiful poem

     
  3. P C JAIN

    July 15, 2012 at 8:26

    what a beautiful definition of Freedom

     
  4. Sue Dreamwalker

    July 11, 2012 at 8:26

    Breathing is freedom. And this poem breathed its own life into me my friend… Wonderful words wonderful.. 🙂 And thank you for visiting Dreamwalkers Thoughts on Blogger.. I only just saw you had been.. as I do not visit there as often as I should… More here on WP now.. Blessings sent your way x Sue

     
  5. Talicha J.

    July 10, 2012 at 8:26

    great job!

     
  6. kellieelmore

    July 9, 2012 at 8:26

    this… “Freedom is, when I’m aware
    Of each moment in which I breathe
    And all else is transient except the love
    That encompasses me like a sheath.”

    …is perfect! Freedom comes from within us. Many times we can remain imprisoned in our minds and not even realize that we are the key to set ourselves free. I adore this and was so very happy to have you back! Thank you!

     
  7. cuoreq

    July 7, 2012 at 8:26

    Wow… well-written stanzas! 🙂

     
  8. StacyMichelle

    July 7, 2012 at 8:26

    well done. stanzas 4 – 6 were especially nice.

     

Leave a Reply

 
