RSS

It’s been a while

14 Apr

It’s been a while
Since I scooped
A fistful of flowers
From the meadows green.

It’s been a while
Since I watched a bird
Hover over a branch
To perch and preen.

It’s been a while
Since I walked bare-feet
O’er the tingling grass
Wet with the dew of dawn

It’s been a while
Since I stole a song
From the hum of the breeze
And the sounds of morn.

It’s been a while
Since I stood in the shade
To squint at the sun
Through the fluttering leaves

It’s been a while
Since I stretched my hand
To catch the rain
Falling from the eaves.

It’s been a while
Since I slowed down
Without any need
For my hours to fill.

It’s been a while
Since the silence seeped
Through my senses
And my thoughts stood still.

P.S:Image downloaded from the Internet

 
20 Comments

Posted by on April 14, 2012 in Poetry, Reflections

 

Tags: , , ,

20 responses to “It’s been a while

  1. Davis

    April 24, 2013 at 8:26

    I’m really impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your weblog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself? Anyway keep up the nice quality writing, it is rare to see a great blog like this one these days.

     
    • dreamingthruthetwilight

      April 25, 2013 at 8:26

      Thank you so much Davis.I’ve been lazy around here lately. May be i should copy -paste the stuff that I’ve scribbled down from time to time over the past few weeks. Do stop by again.

       
  2. Shakti Ghosal

    April 16, 2012 at 8:26

    Hi Nadira,

    I was drawn here from your comment exchange on Bela’s post. And Lo and behold! What a treasure trove I have found! Your words hold the magic of imagery.

    Interestingly,my last post is also on a specifc aspects of our dreams and I happy to point it to you should you or any reader be keen.

    http://esgeemusings.com/2012/04/15/dream-barriers/

    Cheers, plan to return again.

    Shakti

     
    • dreamingthruthetwilight

      April 16, 2012 at 8:26

      Thank you Shakti. I did come across your comments too on Bela’s page and was planning to visit you anyway.:-) Thanks for your invite. I love it here in the blogosphere ,where we come across so many who see the world with the same eyes . Unfortunately, sometimes its amny, many days before one gets to really sit down and surf and read with leisure and add your comments . Not for lack of intention, though:-) Thanks again.

       
  3. Booksphotographsandartwork

    April 15, 2012 at 8:26

    The image that you downloaded is so beautiful! Peaceful and happy. Perfect choice.

     
  4. Personal Concerns

    April 15, 2012 at 8:26

    Thanks to these lovely lines you wrote that I am well in time reminded of all the wonderful things around me that I was missing. This poem brought it all to notice.
    Will attend to each of these one by one starting today itself. May be a walk on the tingling grass shall be the first of these!

    Congrats for a fascinating effort!

     
  5. surekh

    April 15, 2012 at 8:26

    Beautiful…!!!

     
    • dreamingthruthetwilight

      April 15, 2012 at 8:26

      Thank you Surekh. I know you are one of those who finds time for all of those things.:-)

       
  6. Eclipse

    April 14, 2012 at 8:26

    So heartfelt…beautiful all lines through…

     
  7. Jolly

    April 14, 2012 at 8:26

    This is beautiful Eka. So simple and yet evocative. I’m sure you’re doing all of it on a regular basis 🙂

     
    • dreamingthruthetwilight

      April 15, 2012 at 8:26

      Thanks Jolly. I’ve been sneaking around on your blogpage too. There is a strange wonderful sense of elation to be found there:-)

       
  8. granny1947

    April 14, 2012 at 8:26

    That is beautiful Nadira….especially love the last four lines.

     
    • dreamingthruthetwilight

      April 14, 2012 at 8:26

      Thank you Granny dear.I will come shortly to your page and catch up with all your exploits:-)

       
  9. P C JAIN

    April 14, 2012 at 8:26

    Hi Nadira
    it is a beautiful poem ,one wud feel like humming and feel so refreshed.U hav a great talent , why not develop it and get published for benefit of yr fans.
    P C Jain

     
    • dreamingthruthetwilight

      April 14, 2012 at 8:26

      You’re too kind Jainsaab. But I’ll accept your compliments with all due humility. Who doesn’t like being told that what one writes sounds pleasing to the reader? Respects:-)

       
  10. misswhiplash

    April 14, 2012 at 8:26

    It’s been a while
    Due to years and age
    That I have been able to see
    What I write on the comments page
    And what I have been able to read.

    loved your poem
    so full of thought
    Of wonderous dreams come true
    So I hope that today will be the day
    That you see everything with eyes a new…… lots of love

     
    • dreamingthruthetwilight

      April 14, 2012 at 8:26

      Thank you so much. It’s been a while since I came around to read blogs of my friends too. Must , must catch up. Lots of love to you too.

       

Leave a Reply

 
