RSS

Rhyme and reason

23 Jan

Free verse doesn’t come easily to me
I like to loop words together
In orderly segments of time.

It must be all those classes of poetry
Memorising poems tied to the tether
Of metre and rhyme.

It could be an apprehension
Of letting thoughts run away
Like naughty kids on the grounds.

Or a notion that perfection
Would be lost in disarray
Of syllables and sounds.

But at the end of the day
It’s how I say best
What my heart whispers to me

So when words begin to stray
I pull them back to the test
Of sequestered harmony.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on January 23, 2012 in Poetry

 

Tags: , ,

6 responses to “Rhyme and reason

  1. Tally

    March 31, 2012 at 8:26

    The art of rhyme and meter are foreign to me. While I do try a new form every once in a while I find that free verse is the way for me. But I hold a great admiration for those who do, well expressed!

     
  2. Jamie Dedes

    March 1, 2012 at 8:26

    A wonderful poem with wonderful insight into process. Lovely! 😉

     
  3. granny1947

    January 26, 2012 at 8:26

    I cannot write poetry at all which is why admire folk like you.
    “what my heart whispers to me”
    Love it.

     
  4. BUTTERFLIES OF TIME

    January 25, 2012 at 8:26

    Well said! I was like that too but suddenly realised the freedom of free verse….still my poems tend to have a bit of the sweetness that meter and rhymes give…can’t give it up altogether. Loved these lines particularly “an apprehension
    Of letting thoughts run away
    Like naughty kids on the grounds.” lovely capture of the theme with your typical flair…now can’t think of free verse without remembering your naughty kids:). Wish you a very happy new year though a bit belated!! Very glad that you are back in action 🙂

     
  5. souldipper

    January 24, 2012 at 8:26

    I am lost in free verse – I feel none of it is probably right when I use it. It gives me a sense of being completely ignorant of all that I don’t know about poetry.

    Your last verse says it so well.

     
  6. Jolly

    January 23, 2012 at 8:26

    Lovely poem, Eka. I too am somewhat bound by metre and rhyme, but sometimes I write free-verse esp if the topic is too emotional and demands a free rein.

     

Leave a Reply

 
