RSS

Silence

04 Nov

Silence
Pregnant with poetry
Building bridges between
Your heart and mine.

Silence
Picking petals so pretty
Stringing dreams , it’s been
Skipping along, just fine.

Silence
Writing reams in a hand
Known to none but you and me
And the mysterious night sky.

Silence
Embracing our thoughts
Like the shore by the sea
And holding us up high.

And then I spoke
And my words went scattering
Like shards of glass
On a hardened floor.

Reality awoke
My wild imaginings
They glared at me askance
And walked out of the door.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on November 4, 2011 in Poetry

 

Tags: , ,

9 responses to “Silence

  1. Scrumptious Weekends

    April 14, 2012 at 8:26

    never before had silence been so eloquent! breathless I am still..

     
  2. BUTTERFLIES OF TIME

    November 20, 2011 at 8:26

    Silence………….

    “When the soul lies down in that grass
    the world is too full to talk about.”
    ― Rumi
    Loved the peace in the beginning 4 stanzas …..then could almost visualize the glass shattering! Simply enjoyed these lines..”My wild imaginings
    They glared at me askance
    And walked out of the door….Superrr!

     
  3. granny1947

    November 13, 2011 at 8:26

    Hello There…in this hectic life silence is something to be treasured.
    Love the poem.

     
  4. reading-stars

    November 12, 2011 at 8:26

    This is so lovely. At this time of year the sky seems very low over the north sea UK where I live. At around 5 this evening it was setting in to night skies and the moon was huge and had that orange glow as I was travelling home by the sea. It looked as though it was touching the sea it was so low on the horizon. I think the silence that existed for me for a moment then was the best moment for a long time. I like this poetry so much.

     
    • reading-stars

      November 28, 2011 at 8:26

      PS … No, it was not the sun (haha) It was beautiful though. I shared it with my daughter at the time.

       
  5. surekh

    November 5, 2011 at 8:26

    silence is…
    nonexistence of ‘You ‘n I’…
    Just watch…
    everything in it’s place…

     
  6. Pat Cegan

    November 4, 2011 at 8:26

    Your poem made me smile. I like it very much. The subject of silence has come to the forefront for me. I am learning what role silence plays in my spiritual life, i.e., why is it important for me to spend long periods in silence? Silence is not only not talking but not listening to music, not reading, not playing on the computer. Truly, silence incorporates listening within and also savoring the sounds of the floresta where I live. Hugs, pat

     
    • dreamingthruthetwilight

      November 5, 2011 at 8:26

      True Pat and that silence doesn’t make you sad or regretful or wistful or nostalgic because in that silence you find communion with everything around you, right?

       

Leave a Reply

 
