RSS

Autumn Siesta

01 Oct

Autumn spins
A drowsy noon
The deep, dense forest
Becomes a mother’s lap.

The breeze begins
To softly croon
To the trees at rest
Before they nap.

The streaming sunrays
Draws squares and circles
On the moss
And the scattered leaves.

A birdcall delays
The frisky squirrels
Darting across
Like a pair of thieves.

In hushed whispers
The flowers tell tales
To the visiting
Bees and butterflies.

A snake slowly stirs
And a frog turns pale
With a sudden spring
A swallow flies.

Soft grasses warmed
By the morning’s sun
Spread soft mats
Beside the stream

The hours embalmed
Have now begun
To find retreat
In siesta’s dreams.

 
13 Comments

Posted by on October 1, 2011 in Nature, Poetry

 

Tags: , , ,

13 responses to “Autumn Siesta

  1. reading-stars

    October 26, 2011 at 8:26

    I love this so much .. For me “Soft grasses warmed By the morning sun Spread soft mats Beside the stream” You have taken us there to share with you .. thank you. Pam

     
    • dreamingthruthetwilight

      October 26, 2011 at 8:26

      Thank you most warmly Pam. It’s a real pleasure to know that somebody, somewhere, though miles and miles away can connect with me through a poem I’ve written. Isn’t that feeling wonderful?

       
  2. brokenpenwriter

    October 5, 2011 at 8:26

    I felt as if you led me, barefoot along the path, and found a place where a hammock stretched and rocked, and we sat and swung, watching, listening, soaking in the autumnal sun. This piece has such intimacy with nature and reflects calm inner strength along with deep, never ending gratitude. It’s absolutely lovely. Keep writing, we all gain so much from your gentle energy.

     
    • dreamingthruthetwilight

      October 26, 2011 at 8:26

      I love it when somebody can see visually in my words , what images I had in my own mind. What more appreciation can I ask for? Love you:-)

       
  3. jazzminey

    October 4, 2011 at 8:26

    Thank you for commenting on my guest post at Notes along the path. I am glad I found you blog. the Autumn Siesta is beautiful. I loved the lines

    In hushed whispers
    The flowers tell tales
    To the visiting
    Bees and butterflies.

    It makes me want to lean in a listen.

    Janice

     
  4. Pat Cegan

    October 4, 2011 at 8:26

    How beautifully you capture the spirit of the floresta. I love the lines:

    The deep, dense forest
    Becomes a mother’s lap.

    I live on the edge of the floresta and love to walk in her and feel the loving energy she gives me. I learn many things from our Mother. I am grateful for this. Your poetry is very special. I must visit more. Thank you! hugs, pat

     
  5. dreamingthruthetwilight

    October 1, 2011 at 8:26

    Thanks for the “Like” s David, Jules and Planaquarrium. How do I access your blogs?

     
  6. BUTTERFLIES OF TIME

    October 1, 2011 at 8:26

    Such a restful ambience– It nearly felt like taking a nap in nature’s lap. lovely descriptions embedded with a peaceful beauty. You have magic in your pen or fingers and definitely in your heart .

     
    • dreamingthruthetwilight

      October 1, 2011 at 8:26

      So glad you’re back. I know you’re someone who really appreciates what I write. Makes the heart glow. Thanks:-)

       
  7. P C JAIN

    October 1, 2011 at 8:26

    So well expressed, the magic of Autumn comes alive

     
    • dreamingthruthetwilight

      October 1, 2011 at 8:26

      Thanks again Jainsaab. Do keep reading and commenting because they are very encouraging

       

Leave a Reply

 
