RSS

I would not be his bride

27 May

This is in response to the photo-prompt on the following link:
http://bluebellbooks.blogspot.com/2011/05/short-story-slam-week-2.html

Yea, he’s got that swagger in his gait
And his speech is about control
He sure sits handsome on his steed
And that should make me drool.

But he’s all about himself, ain’t he,
As he strolls about on his ranch ?
Of macho deeds and those he shot
And those he hung on a branch.

He spells aggression in each sinew
As he rides over the cobbled street
Trapped in his image of Cowboy King
He’d want the world at his feet.

Ah, but this tall hunk here, is not my man
Though I love that cocky stride
He’s many a maiden’s dream, he is
But I would not be his bride.

 
22 Comments

Posted by on May 27, 2011 in Poetry

 

Tags: , ,

22 responses to “I would not be his bride

  1. shika

    February 20, 2014 at 8:26

    “Ah, but this tall hunk here, is not my man
    Though I love that cocky stride
    He’s many a maiden’s dream, he is
    But I would not be his bride.” These lines strike a chord …..beautifully penned.

     
  2. lori

    June 3, 2011 at 8:26

    It’s interesting how perceptions of manhood are so different. My knight in shining armor is no cowboy either, though I totally understand the romanticism some find in the wild west. Nicely done!

     
  3. mindlovemisery

    May 30, 2011 at 8:26

    Great job! Sometimes what we fantasize about is not what we want

     
  4. dreamingthruthetwilight

    May 30, 2011 at 8:26

    Jainsaab…thanks again

     
  5. A.B. Thomas

    May 30, 2011 at 8:26

    Fantastic bringing to life the prompt and I really loved the last line – it is solid!

     
  6. Andy McDonald

    May 28, 2011 at 8:26

    A fitting description of the image. I like the use of dialect here, you can really hear the accent in your head.

     
    • dreamingthruthetwilight

      May 30, 2011 at 8:26

      Oh..that certainly wasn’t intentional, the dialect, I mean. I guess it unconsciously slipped in. Thank you Andy.

       
  7. charlesmashburn

    May 28, 2011 at 8:26

    Each to her own, I reckon! Nice poem!

     
    • dreamingthruthetwilight

      May 30, 2011 at 8:26

      Yeah, I guess. 🙂 This was not written keeping John Wayne or his characters in mind. I just married the picture to a certain kind of male persona.

       
  8. Bodhirose

    May 28, 2011 at 8:26

    I love this. I grew up watching so many of his movies. He was a real man’s man–and I guess the ladies loved him too.

    Good job–very entertaining.

     
    • dreamingthruthetwilight

      May 30, 2011 at 8:26

      Thanks you 🙂 I find these prompts quite cool….at least for now. Like getting some homework, that one has to submit for the teacher’s scrutiny. Don’t know when I’ll get lazy though.

       
  9. BUTTERFLIES OF TIME

    May 27, 2011 at 8:26

    A perfect poem from the prompt. Reading it immediately brings to mind the pic of the man on the horse.
    “Of macho deeds and those he shot
    And those he hung on a branch.” -I enjoyed this line very much

     
  10. a.m. trumble

    May 27, 2011 at 8:26

    very cool!

     
  11. Jingle

    May 27, 2011 at 8:26

    not for you,

    he speaks about control, and spells aggression..

    you have brought his character to life, very powerful piece.
    Thanks for the smiles.

     
    • dreamingthruthetwilight

      May 30, 2011 at 8:26

      Thanks Jingle. You’re the one who pushed me in here and allowed me to come across so many people who take such delight in the written word.

       
  12. mish

    May 27, 2011 at 8:26

    The description of his character matches the photo very well ~ a proud , arrogant & self-assured individual who is most probably accustomed to getting what he wants !

     
  13. P C JAIN

    May 27, 2011 at 8:26

    WHAT A BEFITTING VISUAL TO A SOUL STIRRING LYRIC

     

Leave a Reply

 
