RSS

Daybreak

12 May

Through a chink in the curtains
Comes in the dawn
I stretch my limbs
With a luxurious yawn

The sparrows assemble
Outside to say
“Wake up and live
Make full this day.

Breathe in the present
Exhale memories of past
Who knows of the future
Or what shadows it will cast

This moment is shining
Made just for you
From the joy in our chirping
Take your cue”

P.S: I wrote this many years ago when I could still wake up early and when there were lots of sparrows in and around Delhi. Now , I ‘m mostly a late riser and sadly the sparrows have almost disappeared completely.

 
14 Comments

Posted by on May 12, 2011 in Poetry

 

Tags: , ,

14 responses to “Daybreak

  1. liveonimpulse

    May 16, 2011 at 8:26

    Beautiful poetry ma’am !!

     
  2. Tally

    May 16, 2011 at 8:26

    I’ve always preferred waking up late. But on the rare days when I do wake up early, there is a powerful mystery in the early morning.
    Beautiful words.

     
  3. Azalia Suhaimi

    May 14, 2011 at 8:26

    This is just lovely, Nadira 🙂

     
  4. Andy

    May 14, 2011 at 8:26

    I’m an early riser. For me, it’s when my mind, body & soul are at their best.

    A lovely write. Thanks for sharing.

     
  5. BUTTERFLIES OF TIME

    May 13, 2011 at 8:26

    Can identify with the chirpy morning calls of sparrows, made me nostalgic remembering the crows and other birds whose sounds take me back to childhood.

     
  6. Shivaja

    May 13, 2011 at 8:26

    yes Nadira, u miss a lot by starting a day late is what I too feel. To me early morning is the best time and even now I do finish my jobs in the morning as I used to do when I was working. So rest of the time is free for reading and surfing…:)

     
  7. Jess

    May 13, 2011 at 8:26

    Great piece. I love the positive message. A nice reminder to revel in the present moment. 🙂

     
  8. Jingle

    May 13, 2011 at 8:26

    you are incredible.
    🙂

     
  9. Ankush

    May 13, 2011 at 8:26

    Beautiful piece of work….Specially in the morning 🙂

     
  10. The twenties girl

    May 13, 2011 at 8:26

    The PS is just as moving as the poem.. early mornings are still sheer bliss, if you wake up that is! 😛

     
    • dreamingthruthetwilight

      May 13, 2011 at 8:26

      I must rewrite my routine. I know I’m missing a lot by starting the day late.Thanks for stopping by:-)

       
  11. Donna Swanson

    May 12, 2011 at 8:26

    Ah, miles and cultures may separate poets, but our words invoke memories we both claim as our own. Thank you for sharing!

     
    • dreamingthruthetwilight

      May 13, 2011 at 8:26

      Yes..the same human heart, the same emotions and responses..the same joys…Thanks for your visit Donna.

       

Leave a Reply

 
