RSS

Morning cuppa tea

13 Apr

Having the leeway to start  the  morning lazily, without having to rush to get somewhere, is a luxury  I can give myself now from time to time. So here I am , up and about much after the sun has been urging me to wake up from slumber and start the day. I’ve just finished my hot cup of tea, flavoured with crushed ginger (because I have a sore throat and because I love the flavour it imparts to the tea) and I’ve put aside the newspaper , after having been updated about what’s happening around me.

I think I have this compulsive need to communicate . If I think about it , physical proximity perhaps only comes second. I mean , I don’t mind distances in physical terms , but when there is a wall even when people are not far apart ..that I find very disconcerting. So when I write something , it is mostly to keep in touch and share my thoughts.

Some days , I glance through the papers and nothing really touches me. Sometimes , a lot of issues start pelting stones at my placidity. Today’s paper carries the news of two sisters in Noida, who had shut themselves into isolation inside their house for many months after their father died. Their mother had passed away earlier and their estranged brother is living separately. A social activist had rescued them and taken them to the hospital with the help of the police and the neighbours. They were both in a bad shape.

And I keep wondering why city life makes us live like this, sanitized within our own respective walls without wanting to reach out to our neighbours. I’ve been living in this Metro for more than thirty years now and I still have to come to terms with this aspect of the city. And I’m not reflecting on the two unfortunate sisters either. I’m wondering about their neighbours , about their  relatives, about their collegues (the elder daughter was a chartered accountant) and their friends. I’m wondering about the so called “Residents’Welfare  Association” , who keep putting up more and more gates to  restrict entry into their colonies or sectors, for security purposes. I’m wondering about the apathy of everyone concerned. Seven months of self imposed confinement and nobody had a clue???? There is something really wrong with this world.

And now I’m wondering how our emotions must have developed from the time we came upon this planet in the present form. At what point of time, did we first become angry ? When did two human beings embrace each other with affection and realize the  comfort of kinship? When did jealousy first creep into our consciousness? When did we start becoming greedy and vengeful and violent? Where is the evolution curve taking us now in terms of these emotions?  The gently  whirring fan above and  the smiling  sun outside are complicit in their silence.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 13, 2011 in Reflections

 

4 responses to “Morning cuppa tea

  1. riffraff

    November 18, 2011 at 8:26

    The last para … I think those emotions always existed in some form or the other. They are very human and hard coded. It was not as if some “big bang” happend and people suddenly learnt to be violent and vengeful. Virtue and vice have always coexisted and they are purely human emotions. When a male chimpanzee eats its own child.. he is not “evil” .. neither is a tigress eating one of her own cubs immidiately after birth. As I said, virtue and vice are man-made concepts.

    About the rest of the point about human indifference etc… I think they too have existed for long. Ayn Rand had put it very well when she said “Civilization is the progress toward a society of privacy. The savage’s whole existence is public, ruled by the laws of his tribe. Civilization is the process of setting man free from men.”

     
  2. kgangadharan

    November 17, 2011 at 8:26

    the silence, the solitude, the stillness. it is death creeping up. and many a time madness precedes it. restless mind, sleepless nights. unspoken words, all the more angry and bitter for it. he does not come to me, so i will not go to him. walls grow harder, thicker, impenetrable. bar the windows, lock the doors, keep the wretched world out. seek the comfort of the darkness, the warmth of the womb. lie down in your grave and laught at death. see how easy and natural it is?

     
  3. dreamingthruthetwilight

    May 30, 2011 at 8:26

    The more I think about it, the more I feel that it is not just a cultural thing. Lifestyles in a place like Kerala has also changed beyond recognition in some aspects. There is an increase in materialistic comforts and almost a proporrtionate decrease in the bonding between people. It is as if we are all running away from ourselves. Thanks fro stopping by Reena. 🙂

     
  4. BUTTERFLIES OF TIME

    May 29, 2011 at 8:26

    That news left me horrified too and i read it out to my hus. We had a discussion about it and I realised that someday if I was the one who was alone in this house for about 3 months-and something happenned, I do not think any of the neighbours here would know about it (our only contact is a smile in the lift)-a cultural barrier more than the language separates us here in U A E -10 years here and not even one arab whom I can call an acquaintance! Maybe we stick to the well and do not jump out for fear of what it may bring. Sorry for rambling on and on. Hope u have a nice weekend.

     

Leave a Reply

 
